Requesting help repairing NAD 3020 series 20

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello. This is my first post on diyAudio. I am not a "tech", just a guy who has been tinkering with stereo equipment for the past few years and trying to learn what I can. I have been successful at repairing/restoring several Carver pieces and I was able to repair an NAD 2140 and NAD 3140, both which were DOA due to shorted output transistors and a host of other problems. I am just learning to use an old Tektronix 2205 scope.

I am trying to fix an NAD 3020 series 20 with a distorted right channel. This unit has the four main power supply caps in the center of the board. I have confirmed that the distortion is in the amp section. I started by replacing the electrolytic caps in the power supply sections and the preamp and amp. DC offset can be adjusted to very near 0 mV. This made no difference. Power supply voltages seem reasonable. I touched up some suspect solder joints and checked that there were no continuity problems. Some work has been done previously on this unit, namely replacement power supply caps but everything used was under spec so I replaced them. The solder pads on this unit are very fragile. I replaced the 20k ohm variable resistor for the dc offset and I replaced the fixed bias resistor with a bourns 1K ohm variable resistor.

I used an online tone generator for a source and I had an 8 ohm dummy load connected to both channels. The right channel output shows that the negative half of the sine wave is clipped. (sorry, I don’t know how to insert pics into the body of the text so I will attach at the end)