New Musical Fidelity A-100 nonsense.

Hi Folks,

As this is my second posting on these forums it will be ignored.

Ok, i've got one of these old bipolar tranny amps. i bought it with a fault - a roughly continuous >200kHz ring on one channel.

i've stripped and re-built it, replacing all electrolytics for +104°C versions, replacing all bipolars with hFE matched pairs or quads. Still it rings.

"Yes", you all say, "throw it away and buy a decent amp. Before it burns your house down". Yes good, however i'm a fan of the designer of this amp's work.

Anyway, tracing out the circuit diagram of the power amp section i got this:
52326553f6636be97144ce9d2189a706a069154f72928b37dee739b27e0b12f3a5e9f259.jpg

Any thoughts folks ?

xx.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi Redbeard,
Didn't see you first post. Welcome to DIYAudio!

You did a good job so far. The schematic is too small for me to make it out properly. Check the resistor and capacitor that make up the output zobel network. If either goes open the amplifier will be unstable. This network goes from the output to ground.

-Chris

this amp looks quite similar to my TGM7 amplifier - it was an extremely high gain bandwidth amp that took some effort to tame in terms of oscillations. At 200kHz it could well be instability from the global feedback loop so I'd check the compensation caps (like said already, hard to see the low resolution image) of which there appear to be several, including those on the base-collector of the drivers. Wiring is key too, any output signal currents invading the input signal ground will give big trouble.

Just for test purpose try increase C32 like x10 or more. Same goes for its counterpart C22 (? I can't see values properly). So if it's a compensation issue this is supposed to cure oscilations. Then step by step try lower and lower values (keep these caps closely matched) to find the safe limit.

Of course, bad contact could also be the cause.

Last edited:
Hi Folks,