How to tell if this amp is in class A or AB ???

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First of all, I'm sorry for my poor english.
In the last month I've learned a lot about power amplifiers by reading books like "High-Power Audio Amplifer Construction Manual" by Slone, and many others by Douglas Self etc..
I graduated from a technical school so I know a little about designing an amp and how the several classes work, but i have a big doubt: I designed a circuit like this and I'm pretty sure that it isnt operating in class-b. Let me explain: I first started designing a Single-end amp (that operate in class-a) then in order to increase the efficency I added a second transistor which changed the output stage in a push-pull one. The highly biased transistor makes "cross-over distortion" appear (and consequently switch to class-b) only when you quadruplicate the value of R1 and R2. So by now (with this value) i'm pretty sure that the output stage operate in class A or AB but i don't know how tell if it is still in A and when it switch to AB. :confused:

[R3 and R4<1 Ohm, R5 is the speaker and the Op amp are buffer linked to the Volt amplification stage]
[Note that the arrow in Q2 is reversed by mistake]

Attachments

• Circuit.PNG
    Circuit.PNG
    17.6 KB · Views: 511
Last edited:
Your engine is red hot and choking, even SanKens wouldn’t help. Read some online cook-amp-book before your lab burn in flames. Use something like LME49810 instead, have a cold beer and enjoy.

Attachments

• 029B1F9F-3893-4E11-AC84-8F0BEDD1D56B.jpeg
    029B1F9F-3893-4E11-AC84-8F0BEDD1D56B.jpeg
    134.3 KB · Views: 446
Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Try altering your circuit like this.

1/ Link the base of the output transistors.
2/ Do not connect the lower opamp output.
3/ Move the feedback point of the top opamp to the output node.
4/ Change the 10uF to something larger as shown.