The F6 build of the century :) (I want to learn everything)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys. Im setting to build it right. Im a physics student and I know a bit of the fundamentals (Ohm's law) but I have never done anything like this and I have questions every single step.

Im going through the BOM and the second resistor is 0.47 ohm. I looking on mouser.com and I have narrowed it downn to this

a00QIIh.png

now They match word by word afaiks, so what gives? the bottom one has an icon that says NRND, so what's up with that?

They do not match exactly. Notice one is 3SJR47 and the other is 3FJR47. The F uses iron leads, so might be considered inferior for audio use. I would go with the S series for peace of mind. Plus, they are cheaper, too.

NRND means 'not recommended for new designs'. This model has (sadly) been discontinued.

Last edited:
thanks for the thoughtful tips guys. it's helped me greatly. Im almost done with having all the reistors ready to order. one thins: in the BOM it says:

P1,2 5Kohm 25 turn Bourns 3296W or equivalent (You can use a single-turn pot if you like, but the 25-turn will make setting the amplifier much easier.)

i cant find this item. i searched all over mouser. there is nothing called turn bournes

If the pcb has 3 holes in straight line then you need a trimpot with 3 pins in a straight line.
If it is a triangular pattern on the pcb you'll need a trimpot with a triangular pattern.
Some pcbs will have both patterns to give the builder more options.

Also check pin spacing.

I think the consensus here is that the most appropiate Zener is between 5.6V and 6.8V.
I used 5.6V, it works perfectly.
Papa recommended 5.1V, some people claimed that they had issues with biasing using 5.1V Zeners. 9.1V is overkill.

In any case Zeners are useful, they are also cheap, buy a few at different voltage ratings.

1/2 Watt is usually adequate for most tasks.