Aleph3 recap

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I just got a Aleph 3 to push a very inefficient headphone (HE-6), so not much room effect in my sonic impression. Up to now I am very happy with the large soundstage and accurate focusing from the 3. However, I wish the mid/upper bass may be tighten up and has some more impact. Also, I wouldn't mind if the midrange get more body.

From what I read here, it seems replacing those 8x 22k caps may help (also consider these original caps really approach its age limit). I have some questions as a newbie here (although I have EE training and did some vintage amp recapping) and appreciate your help.

I opened up the case and found some MOSFET boards attached to the heatsinks have L shape solid wire connected to the PCB with 8 caps. I'd like to know the good procedure to separate them and replace the caps without damaging boards.

Also, I read people use caps with larger capacitance (>22k uF) as upgrade. What is the good value to use if I want to improve in the above mentioned aspect.

Thanks!

Hotter is worse?

Last night I have another listen with Aleph 3. I found out that when the amp was not fully warm up (may be first 1 hr), the sound actually was nicer. After the amp is totally heat up to about 120~130F. I found the high became thinner, midrange recessed, and bass became softer and weaker. So I wonder if this is the sign of any component showing their age? On the other hand, this could be my preamp. So, I'll need to start them at different time to test. Thanks for your insight!