Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

F3 Builders Thread
F3 Builders Thread
F3 Builders Thread Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th November 2019, 03:25 PM   #691
Dennis Hui is offline Dennis Hui  Canada
Hoopy Frood
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
F3 Builders Thread
You can use vishay irfp240. No need for Harris ones.
__________________
We are fearless amplifier builders. A little heat doesn't scare us at all.
- NP 2002
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2019, 03:54 PM   #692
JeffYoung is offline JeffYoung  Ireland
diyAudio Member
 
JeffYoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Ireland
F3 Builders Thread
Yeah, the Lovoltech is in the driver's seat. The 240s are just a c-multiplier, a CCS, and a cascode, none of which are critical.

That being said, last I checked NJSemi had Harris IRFP240Rs. Ask for Ron.

Cheers,
Jeff.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2019, 03:57 PM   #693
indra1 is online now indra1  Indonesia
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bogor
N channel IRFP are good, you do not need Harris.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2019, 05:58 PM   #694
Johnny Canuck is offline Johnny Canuck  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Calgary
F3 Builders Thread
Wow, thanks for your replies!
Glad I had the LU1014’s (from one of NP’s frequent giveaways - thanks Nelson!)
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2020, 02:31 AM   #695
lordvader is offline lordvader  Australia
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: n/a
Bit of a bump on this thread, but anyway
One of the channels of my f3 amp fails pretty much instantly. To make attempted repair easier, I've taken the amp apart. This separates it from bulky psu.

Can I test a single F3 channel with a 50V (maybe even just 30V) bench supply, linear or switching supply? Will make my life easier!
I really just need to identify the failing component - possibly a short somewhere ...

Last edited by lordvader; 14th January 2020 at 02:33 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2020, 02:32 AM   #696
2 picoDumbs is online now 2 picoDumbs  Australia
diyAudio Member
 
2 picoDumbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Yes
__________________
"If you leave this point unattached to some circuitry, an ideal constant current source will emit a small lightning bolt which will travel until it connects to something." Nelson Pass
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2020, 11:46 AM   #697
JeffYoung is offline JeffYoung  Ireland
diyAudio Member
 
JeffYoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Ireland
F3 Builders Thread
FWIW, I always test each channel on a bench supply first. That way you can slowly run up the voltage and see what kind of current it's drawing....
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2020, 11:23 PM   #698
lordvader is offline lordvader  Australia
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: n/a
I actually had the amp running for a few years, then I think a drip of water caused a channel to fail. Have another amp, so the F3 was sitting idle.

Was about to sell it for parts, but then thought I'll take a crack at repairing it. Might pop back here every now and then for advice, as I've got no idea what the failing part is!
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2020, 10:51 AM   #699
lordvader is offline lordvader  Australia
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: n/a
Quick update on the testing. I tested each channel with a bench supply, and all seems normal...

At 46V, each is drawing 1.6A. 1VAC in and about 4.6VAC out.

The only difference is that on power up, one channel draws 0 amp, then slowly ramps up to 1.6V, the other immediately jumps to 2A, then slowly comes down to 1.6A.

Could this surge trip my fuses? Each channel has a 1.25A slow blow (I think). Oh, and I'm on 240VAC. Dual mono supply.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2020, 03:04 PM   #700
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
Official Court Jester
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
F3 Builders Thread
what's VA of Donuts , and size of cap bank?

T1A25 is sounding too low , so give us data
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote

Reply


F3 Builders ThreadHide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ezDAC v.1.5 Builders Thread ezkcdude Digital Line Level 366 14th March 2013 04:31 PM
A-X IP Issues (split from Builders thread) tomchaoda Pass Labs 107 16th October 2011 03:05 AM
one for the box builders offroadbum Car Audio 2 11th October 2004 10:19 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 15.00%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2020 diyAudio
Wiki