Guts of a TKD potentiometer!

This is the inside of a TKD potentiometer. the surface where the wipers sweep is very shiny and smooth as you can see in pictures, even though it has gold plated contacts (looks like gold), at the tip of wipers (contact) it is not the same material as the whole wipers, they look like silver or chrome (I am not an expert in metals).Compared to the inside of an Alps potentiometer(I took one apart a few months ago)....well it looks like the TKD will last way longer than the "carbon" path of the Alps. All this reminds me the Fluke 87 and the Fluke 87III that have "carbon" path for the inputs contacts and with time people had to open the meter and "clean" it, because with a lot of use the carbon particles from trace made false contacts with other ranges in the meter and started to show crazy readings. Now the new Fluke 87V has only gold plated contacts(best)and the wipers are very soft and gentle to the contact that for sure it will last for a long, long, long time.
ok, enough of Fluke lol. Now this TKD for around $40 USD it is a very good choice to replace an old broken potentiometer. This is the TKD potentiometer that I got from Partsconnexion long time ago:
TKD 10K LOG TAPER 6R25 (2CP-601)

Attachments

• SAM_0798.JPG
    SAM_0798.JPG
    707.9 KB · Views: 2,544
  • SAM_0813.JPG
    SAM_0813.JPG
    738.6 KB · Views: 1,084
  • SAM_0811.JPG
    SAM_0811.JPG
    710.4 KB · Views: 1,072
  • SAM_0810.JPG
    SAM_0810.JPG
    718.9 KB · Views: 1,142
  • SAM_0809.JPG
    SAM_0809.JPG
    744.7 KB · Views: 2,461
  • SAM_0806.JPG
    SAM_0806.JPG
    740 KB · Views: 2,521
  • SAM_0802.JPG
    SAM_0802.JPG
    718.7 KB · Views: 2,426
  • SAM_0799.JPG
    SAM_0799.JPG
    718.7 KB · Views: 2,504
Try and you'll start to consider them no more so expensive... ;)