A simple (but maybe not easy) bracing question.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, Gents,

I am planning on bracing the 16T X 10W X 14D two way cabinets I've just built with one side to side brace and one baffle to back brace. The cabinets are built of 3/4' Baltic birch and are of 100% mitered construction, including the top and bottom. My question is: Is it better to tie these braces to each other where they cross in roughly the center of the cabinet or keep them seperate from each other? (I know that they should be slightly off center where they butt against the panels). My hunch and one experienced speaker builder says, tie them together, but another very experienced speaker builder I respect says to keep them independent of each other. I wonder if folks who have practical experience can share their views and rationale. I'm still a beginner, this is the biggest cabinet I've built and I'd like it to be the best it can be given that it is using a very basic bracing scheme.

Best,
Jay

Last edited:
No slamming from me, Mark100, and I think you are right, broadly speaking.

In my opinion: Of primary importance is getting well matched drivers connected with a well designed crossover that takes into account the diffraction and baffle step. Next in importance is low diffraction in the horizontal plane and a smooth, uniform off axis response. Only after getting all of these factors right will the differences in cabinet rigidity and structural damping matter.

On the other hand, it is very difficult to predict how much bracing or damping will be needed to make the cabinet inaudible. Bracing is cheap and easy when the box is being constructed, but it is difficult to add after the system is fully assembled. So it is perhaps better to err on the side of "more is better" while the box is being built.