Mismatched horn throats and cd exit angles

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
We all know matching the exit angle of the compression driver to the throat of the horn is the best way to go. However if there will be a compromise which one would be a better choice. Using an exit angle that is lower than the throats angle or one that is higher.

For example, take Yuichi Arai's 290 horn. It is designed to match the 10degree exit angle of the Tad 4001 (or JBL 2450, or even BMS 4592nd which is also has 10 degrees exit)

What if we wanted to use a Beyma cp850nd with its 7degrees exit angle. Would it be better than using a Radian 950 with its 20degrees exit? As the shape opens up rather than closing down it makes me think having a lower exit angle may work better however I have no experience on this.

What kind of a mismatch is more detrimental and at what frequency do these detrimental effects arise. If it is higher frequency ripples correlating to 2" throat size, then they would they be around 6700hz. What if we cut below that, surely it will still have an effect but would it be audible enough to consider a different cd?

We all know matching the exit angle of the compression driver to the throat of the horn is the best way to go. However if there will be a compromise which one would be a better choice. Using an exit angle that is lower than the throats angle or one that is higher.

For example, take Yuichi Arai's 290 horn. It is designed to match the 10degree exit angle of the Tad 4001 (or JBL 2450, or even BMS 4592nd which is also has 10 degrees exit)

What if we wanted to use a Beyma cp850nd with its 7degrees exit angle. Would it be better than using a Radian 950 with its 20degrees exit? As the shape opens up rather than closing down it makes me think having a lower exit angle may work better however I have no experience on this.