Do my speakers need to impedance match?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am currently designing and building a two way active studio monitor for a school project. I have been slowly building up my knowledge on different components, yet I am still unsure about impedance. I understand that speakers within a system do not need to have the same impedance, but I am not clear on the reasons why.

I am just wondering first of all whether it is easier to choose a woofer and tweeter with the same value of impedance?

Also if I were to have a woofer with an impedance value of 8 ohms, and a tweeter with an impedance value of 6 ohms, what things would I need to do differently within my monitor that I wouldn't have to if their impedances matched?

I am not very experienced with electronics so please try and reply as you would to a beginner, thanks!

No, it's not necessary to use drivers of identical impedance. It doesn't make designing the crossover any easier (or harder) whatever the Re value is. The overall system (complete speaker of drivers and crossover) impedance will vary over the range. This is not a problem, providing the load doesn't dip to an excessively low level, or become excessively reactive.

Some caveats. Note: 'Re'. Ignore the nominal impedance, which means nothing useful, and do yourself a great favour and do not use on-line calculators to design the filter, or any textbook mathematical equations: these take no account for the actual acoustic response of the drivers, nor of their changing impedance loads with frequency. Use a proper crossover design programme.

Hi, relative newbie here with a similar question: