Which 8" coaxial ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone,

I'm new here (been lurking for quite some years though), but I've been building my own speakers for almost 20 years (God, can it really be that long ?). Unfortunately, I'm not very familiar with the high sensitivity side of hifi. That's the reason why I'm asking for you guys' opinions.

These days, I'm starting thinking about a new project : "Multi-role" ultra-compact active speakers, mostly to be used as PA floor monitors, but with a real hifi quality to them.

In other words, I'd like to have at the same time : high input power and high sensitivity, good high/lows integration, low distortion, similar distortion behavior at all power and frequencies, even dispersion, blablabla, etc...

Since I have to start somewhere, the first design choice is to go with an 8" coaxial per speaker.

Now, there are quite some 8" coaxials out there, so I'd appreciate any kind of opinions, info, reviews, comparisons etc...

Here's my preliminary list, in alphabetical order :

- 18sound 8CX400F
- B&C 8CXN51
- Beyma 8XC20
- Beyma 8CXN51
- BMS 8CN552
- Ciare NDCX8-1.4
- Radian 5208C

I did a search in the forum, and saw that some of these drivers have been used by forumites. But since I couldn't find a thread that would aim at compiling this info, I figured I could add this one to the wealth of info here.

BTW, I'm thinking of using Hypex AS2.400 modules, any opinion on those ?

So have at it, and thanks in advance for your help !

Cheers,
David

Thanks Dirk ! I'm definitely doing that ! And the amp module's DSP allows me to extend the low end a little bit if needed.

But beyond the purely technical side of choosing the driver, there's the whole subjective thing of "does it sound good or not ?"... Hence my cry for help ! ;-)