Reducing Signal Voltage for FX Loop

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been working on my high gain build for a few months now, and have gotten to a point where it's time to add an FX loop. And as such, I've been considering ways to reduce signal levels that would play nice with pedals. I'm guessing somewhere around 1Vpeak, probably even a bit less.

The natural place for me to get a starting point is proven designs.

Soldano uses a split cathode (from a DC coupled CF) to drop signal. That seemed pretty simple, effective and low parts count. But, I'm not using a CF in my build. So I gotta figure another way.

Then I figured I could just use a large voltage divider after the tone stack (say 1M/10k or whatever) to drop the signal down and then feed that into an AC coupled CF as an output buffer. The return would be a normal common cathode stage with a volume pot feeding the PI. That can work, but parts count is a bit high and requires an extra triode stage (output buffer).

Here's the thing, my preamp uses 5 stages. So ideally I'd use the unused triode in V3 as the FX return recovery stage.

Then I got to thinking about split loads, similar to how the SLO does it. Except that instead of split cathode, how about split plate load? The signal voltage coming off V3a (final preamp stage) is upwards of 120VAC. According to my calculations, a 560ohm resistor would drop the signal down to about 700mV. And the output impedance would roughly be 560ish ohms, right? Seems like a win-win and uses minimal parts.

I've attached a snippet describing what I propose.

The question I have, is there anything I'm not considering? I don't think I've ever seen a design do it this way... I just wanted a bit of reassurance, one way or another. :wave2:

P.S. I'm driving two 6V6's, so the loss from the tone stack isn't an issue.

EDIT: Schematic shows V4b, which should be V3b. Excuse the typo.

Attachments