Woodworker but first speaker, Kirishima? Other?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
My room is 16' by 43' so pretty large, but I would be mostly sitting only 10-12 feet away from the speakers. I've never built a speaker cabinet before, but had looked a lot at the frugal horn stuff like 5 years ago. I have no issue with cutting weird angles and stuff since I have been woodworking for over a decade. I like the Kirishima plans from frugal horn. Is there a full range driver priced like the FE206En or other enclosures I should look at? Thanks!

Many designs are intended to be simple wood working wise, as most dont have the tools and experience you have to fabricate. I suppose it comes down to complexity of the project and how much build challenge you'd like to take on.

Some of the Woden designs Woden Design look like they have a few more internal pieces to make up the cabinet - perhaps they'd be more of a challenge to construct.

I've been thinking "Metronome" lately, but that's just a table 'n jig saw construct-able.

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
Is there a full range driver priced like the FE206En or other enclosures I should look at?

There are a wealth of drivers in similar pice class to FE206 that are well liked.

Kirishima, except for making sure all the pieces go to the right place, and it is big is not that challenging a woodwork issue.

Kirishima will play really loud with little power. Good bass, mids, a bit rough up top. It really wants a high output impedance amplifier to work best.

What amp do you have?

I tend towards the Mark Audio drivers, the cousins of Kirishima’s big brother, Woden Vulcan, Avebury (Alpair 12p) & Brodgar (Apair 11ms), are simialr size to Kirishima, take advantage of room boundaries to go lower, and ar emuch more agnostic to what amp you use.

dave