Small 2" drivers in BIB design

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone. This is my first post on this forum so be gentle. :shy:

Some years ago i got to listen my friends cyburgs needles and was absolutely amazed. Then i build pair of them for myself.

Now i've been thinking about building some smaller speakers that you can put on your desk beside your computers monitor or TV.

I've made this one sketch about Tang Band W2-803SM in small BIB-style box.
(See the attachment for picture.)
I just input the speaker data into Zillaspeaks calculator and used Google SketchUp to visualize the design.

I haven't found any cabinet designs for this speaker and i'm just a newbie in speaker design.

So could this design be any good?
Has anyone tested these W2-803SM speakers in any kind of box?
If this has some potential i might order a pair of these and find out how they sound.

Attachments

• TB_2inch_design_BIB.jpg
    TB_2inch_design_BIB.jpg
    191.6 KB · Views: 639
They will be cute! Put em up on a stand so the driver is at a good height?
The internal width may be a bit narrow for the driver , although I don't know for sure and the whole thing at less than 3" wide? It will need a wider base so it doesn't fall over too easy.

Great idea! I've been messing around with the little tang band too, albeit in a different app. Very very decent and surprisingly smooth driver for the $$$.

You could flip the speaker over so it vents to the bottom; build it longer then make cut-outs to form the legs. You can also cut the back at an angle as GM suggested (somewhere in the original BIB thread), so that it won't be too tall/tippy for the desktop. Or even shape it like a Karlson opening.

I made some measurements and found out that distance from the center of speaker cutout to that angled piece of wood (what would you call that?) is ~290mm and W2-803SM is 345mm deep.