What simulation software do the pro's use?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Just curious.

1) What simulation software do the commercial hi fi speaker companies use. Be also interesting to know what measurement software they use too but I'd love to know what the likes of KEF, PMC, Focal etc use to help design their products and for that matter how their design process goes.

2) I wonder how much real care and time goes into developing a new range of speakers.

3) Crossover design seems to me to be a black art, how the pro's go about it.

Anyone on here currently working for or have worked for commercial speakers companies? I'd love to get some insights.

I'm no pro. :) My pro experience was in motion picture equipment, and what speaker work I did was using a B&K paper/tape based, but I have some thoughts.

1 - Leap, among others

2 - Lots, but not necessarily where you'd think. There is a lot of re-use, so pro's don't necessarily re-do everything from the ground up each time. Dali for instance uses the same tweeter and super tweeter (or is it mid and tweeter?) assembly and by extension the crossover in their lines.

Focal's latest Sopra apparently uses lots of crossover and speaker ideas from previous lines. Most of the new work seems to have gone into making a stylish MDF cabinet. Some of the Focal crossover is specifically designed to make the speakers hard to drive or equalize poor tweeter responses.

Bose does a tremendous amount of simulation and research, but again, not where you'd want. A lot of their budget for consumer products went into research on what things consumers would pay for as opposed to what sound was most accurate.