What killed off the acoustic-suspension speaker?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Clue! :D

Btw I was looking for pics of vintage audio and ran across this cool photo of the AR9, Power Sponge Of The Decade :p, which contained a link to the designer's thoughts on the engineering behind the 9.

Some of Infinity's a.s. speakers were also known to be difficult loads for many amplifiers, including the beautiful RS IIA, which IIRC also exhibited tricky phase angles electrically-speaking, though to be honest I don't know what that means or how it affects an amplifier.

Difficult loads for an amplifier was almost an Arnie Nudel trademark. OTOH, he did help bring in a lot new technology to speaker design.

Best Regards,
TerryO

What a terrific thread.

I'm not a speaker designer but have been into DIY audio for over 40 yrs and love this enthusiasm for the hobby we all share.

I am however an engineer and for me, a micron is quite a large unit - certainly you'll be glad I don't have this much contradiction over the laws of physics in my company, when the pilot pulls the stick back on the aircraft taking you and your family on holiday, you will want the aircraft to take off!

Anyhow, coming to the op, I'm so curious to hear opinions of my set up which is that "marmite" of speakers, the KEF 105/3. With its cavity coupled bass (look it up ) and unconventional design it has sent my preconceptions about what "good" bass is into a flat spin.

Until the arrival of the KEF's my main speakers were heavily modified Mission 765's (google Mission 765's for sale) with 2x 8" bass reflex /port loaded to make deep and I thought, powerful bass.

The 105's look very impressive but the bass is totally and utterly different. Not nearly as deep (or is it ?) what is there is simply a magnitude better, more accurate and faster.