upgrading a cheap guitar amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First off I'm brand new to this and have VERY little experience but I want to learn so this post is for a learning project not to try and build the world's best amp out of cheap parts. I have some quality guitar amps already so rather than suggest go buy a better amp, I'm hoping to get some help.

I have read a lot of blogs, forums and watched a ton of youtube vids but can't seem to get what I need, so I'm here looking for basic knowledge.

Here's what I have... a $35 10w guitar amp. I want more out of it and wanted to learn on it rather than my nice amps. It's labeled as "esteban g-10" ... yup, the crap you get when you buy one of his guitars (don't worry, I didn't buy his guitar, just the amp for a project).

I wanted to upgrade the 5" speaker to a 6" one. Problem #1 then arises.... I don't know if I should get a 4ohm or 8ohm speaker?

I can not find the skematik for this amp since it's a cheap amp probably made by multiple factories overseas (each week made by a new factory that could do it cheaper I presume) so do I go safe and get 8ohm and possible lose volume?

If anyone knows how to find the skematik I'd love the help. Tips on what ohm speaker to get? I found a 6" Jensen (15w) in both the 4 and 8 ohm version online and am tempted to try one out.

I'd love to know more on how to get more power and am willing to learn how to do the work but honestly, I am NEW to this and although I can solder, I don't know 1/2 the things forums talk about... where do I start?!?!? If I posted a pic of the board maybe that would help people tell me what to replace? I'm not trying to get a 50's tweed tube amp sound out of this, just improve the sound but really the point is to learn about this kind of stuff. Remember when you first started? That's me ;)

Sorry for the long post. Thanks in advance for the help!!!

Agree and add.