Trying to fix motor speed inconstancy

I have been using this Pioneer PL223 turntable for a few years, but last few months the speed has been fluctuating excessively. I have already tried re-lubricating the spindle shaft. Here is the schematic for the motor control.

PhLrCgt.png

It's a "DC Servo Control" system according the label on the turntable.

I am new to DIY audio and electronics, so although this turntable is not worth much I would like to fix it as a learning experience.

Will appreciate if anyone could point me to some information on this type of motor-control system and how it works (I noticed that unlike higher end turntables, there are no transistors or ICs involved, how is the servo control working here?) and any tips on how to go about troubleshooting this.

The usual culprits in such a situation tend to be:
* worn-out belt (if synthetic, may be brought back in spec via boiling)
* dirty speed selector switch
* corroded speed adjustment pots (more a problem with pitch pots normally)
* fluctuating DC supply voltage e.g. due to worn-out mains filter capacitor

I don't think the motor bearings gumming up is a very common problem but I suppose is not out of the question (it does happen in some CD mechanism spindle and pickup motors, and keep in mind we are talking bread and butter level components). Turn the motor pulley by hand, it should spin easily. Also let it run for a while and check temps.