• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Transmitting Triode Amps

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
All the commercial 211 & 845 amps i have (a sample set of 3) sound quite good. That said i am a rookie at tube amp building and when a box (actually 5 boxes) of tubes came my way, i sold off the pr of 845s & 211s because the voltages needed to make these things sing are scary.

Until i have a lot more experience i have set a 500V limit and most of the amps in my queue are under 300V... my path to more acoustic power is more amps (my full-range bi-polar 2-ways can accomodate 3 amps [plus the SS sub amp of course]) and more efficient speakers ...

dave
Yeah. I never built something over 400 volts, this is the biggest voltage Ive tried on my own skin, nothing pleasureable.... But voltages over 500 volts you will touch just once.... Im a young heart...

950V sucks HARD even if it's just from a focusing electrode on an old scope... Highest practical voltage I ever use is 640V...
I remember when I "tried" 450 volts... I was at home alone testing my experimental power amp. I have disconnected one anode of powertube (I didnt know about it) so the voltage raised from 350 to 450 volts maybe. I had both hands near the amplifier. With one I have touched some B+ thing and with another the chassis - very dangerous.... I was squating and when I touched, I felt how the voltage tries to cramp my muscles. So I have tried to fall down which worked so I broke the connection.
And that was only 450 volts! Imagine even 10uF cap charged up to 700 volts... this is INSTANT DEATH.

Even 640V is enough to kill but if it is properly insulated no "prototype breadboard" its okay.