Time align Klipschorn

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Ever wonder how "big" is a Klipschorn?

I forever despaired of ever time-aligning my diverse electrostatic speaker system... esp with a folded corner horn sitting two feet behind the right ESLs. The front of the Klipschorn is about of 93 inches from my cranium when I sit in my music chair.

Turns out, good old REW measures distance with impulse displays, simple as could be (OK, not so simple).

DATA POINT

Turns out, REW says the Klipschorn sound originates 28.0 feet from my head location (AKA 24.91 milliseconds or 8.54 m). Subtract 93 inches, and that makes the Klipschorn 20.25 feet long. A bit longer than Klipsch and his carpenters figure.

I wouldn't take any of these assertions too seriously since I am new to impulses on REW, but provides some ideas.

BTW, I aligned the mids and the tweeters to that 28.0 feet and listened, as always first to percussion music (Paul Lansky). My impression is that there was a lot more visceral feeling. You could feel the impacts on the percussion instruments. A very nice improvement to reproduction. Otherwise sound was good, but I am very cautious about posting vague impressions here (I must be the only one to behave that way).

Ben

Last edited:
Turns out, good old REW measures distance with impulse displays, simple as could be (OK, not so simple).

BTW, I aligned the mids and the tweeters to that 28.0 feet and listened, as always first to percussion music (Paul Lansky). My impression is that there was a lot more visceral feeling.
Ben,

The folded horn leading the mids and the tweeters by about 20ms will give a more visceral feeling due to the Haas effect.

Have you tried measuring distance with the Klipschorn using no filters?

Art

Ben,

The folded horn leading the mids and the tweeters by about 20ms will give a more visceral feeling due to the Haas effect.