The Genus Behind Wide Baffles

Hello all,

Recently I have taken an interest in studying diffraction's effects on loudspeaker response, after reviewing Gedlee's whitepapers. Gedlee's research shows that linear distortion artifacts of diffraction are highly audible, more so than non-linear distortion. On the full-range thread I studied the correlation between full range polar response in relation to speaker diameter. This was an effort to use driver beaming to reduce the frequency bandwidth effected by diffraction loss. In summary, you can not practically eliminate all diffraction related distortions by using high directivity fullrange drivers on maximally small baffles. ...but what about creating a speaker that effectively has no baffle step, because the baffle is so large that it loads all frequencies equally?

I've recently taken interest in the design behind Stereophile's A rated Devore Fidelity Orangutan O/96. It's a pretty unusual speaker in that it uses a wide baffle, against the current grain of "tall and skinny" loudspeaker design. Going over reviews on the internet, I came across an interesting tidbit behind the engineering of the O/96. John DeVore states,

"... It eliminates what a lot of people call the step response. Which is where the speaker goes from broadcasting its sound[wave] forward in a hemisphere because the baffle has a certain width, to broadcasting into the room as a sphere because the sound wave becomes double the width of the front baffle, and generally speaking, at that point, whatever frequency that is, the power response in the room will drop...

Hide the fact that there is a baffle by moving the speaker close to a wall boundary so that the wall boundary essentially catches what’s left and everything is coming forward in a hemisphere no matter what the frequency. The other way to do it is to move the frequency so that the step response happens by changing the dimensions of the front baffle, and that’s what we did with the ’96."