Switch mode voltage from power bank, how to filter noise? Use for microphone with amp

Thank you Mooly for always being here and keep giving me advices (Y)

So, since I'm a beginner, I didn't really understand in practise what you mean with the PSRR and that it's the only way that the output can be degraded via noise on the rail. Is this something I can change by changing the schematic diagram and its components?

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
PSRR is the means by which noise and any variation in rail voltage can influence the output of an amplifier.

If you take an opamp circuit and make for example the 9 volt rail into a varying voltage (say a squarewave that changes between 8v and 10 volt) then the opamp circuit should reject that unwanted supply variation and no disturbance or trace of it should be seen at the opamp output.

In practice the rejection is high at lower frequencies but worsens rapidly at higher ones (like from a switching supply). This means noise can enter the opamp via the rail.

So you can only improve on that by improving the filtering to opamp supply pins.

Noise from switching supplies tends to be both high frequency and spiky in nature and that makes it very difficult to remove.

great, thank you!

So with the circuit I have (in the image I posted), I get a peak around 10 000 Hz which is really disturbing. Do any of you know how to filter this signal?

I already have a RC low-pass filter, with a cut off at around 3.5 Hz, so I thought that this peak would be removed by the filter, but no.

So now my question is if the noise comes from the OP-amp or something else in the circuit .... Is there a way of splitting the resistor values so that I get less noise? Or do you think it could be due to something else?

Have a good weekend everyone!

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
A couple of things you could try for curiosity: