Scanspeak (Rega) D2008 7203 like 8511?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi. Newbie here.
Have a pair of Rega ELA mk 1.25 and have picked up a pair of Linn Kabers for 100 GBP. Don't like the early mk1 ceramic tweeters in the kabers. I understand that scanspeak D2008 and Hiquphon OW1-92 are drop in replacements.
Really like the sound of the Regas tweeter at 4k plus. Much more open and the boxes vanish where the early kabers tweeter doesn't. So...
The ELAs have an oem driver from Scanspeak D2008/7203. Reputedly they have no ferro and have been tuned to match the crossover in the ELA which would suggest they might be closest to the 8511, with the 7203 no longer available and the 8512 having ferrofluid and a higher resonance point of 800hz compared with 650hz - but what should I put in the kabers? Can't afford the Hiquphons. Could cannibalise the Regas, but this seems a shame. How similar could the 7203 and the 8511 be? Hoping that someone on here has been there done that, or has an insiders view. Can anyone help.

Thanks Andy B

The D2008 seems discontinued. Try the Vifa/Tympnany XT25 line. :) Absolutely fantastic tweeters for their price. SS sells the XT25 tweeter under their own brand label. Here they are $20 for the SS label upcharge.

However, you'll need to do some crossover work to make the transition truly work. If you are SUPER lucky, the crossover points will match and all you will need to do is adjust the tweeter level. More likely you won't be so lucky.... :D

Since you are a newbie I strongly encourage you not to try to get the most expensive tweeter you can find. :) Get the XT25 or something in the price range. You'll cry less when you ruin them. :) But seriously, the XT25's are super great values. Crossed over correctly (easy to do if you know what you are doing) they are fabulous.

Best,

Erik