Quad 303 Power Amplifier - Left Channel Distorted

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello Everyone

This is my first time posting here, and just wanted to say i am glad to be part of a great community of people with such skill in this area. :)

Very recently my Quad 303 power amp has developed an issue with its left channel, i have definitely narrowed it down to the power amp after swapping cables and speakers. The channel has suddenly become extremely distorted and quite (barely audible, however base seems to make it through the most).

I inherited the quad 303 and 33 a few years ago from my grandfather who is a hifi nut. "I seem to have caught the same bug!:D" And out of the many amps i have, i just cant get over the quality of this amp. Sadly my grandfather still has possession of 4 matching Electrostatics.

I was wondering if anyone would know where the best place to start looking? I am currently studying a course in Avionics and want my future career to be in electronic maintenance. So i do have some knowledge and definitely not afraid to learn. Look forward to hearing from you,

Kind Regards
Bradley Fechner

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
On something that age the first thoughts have to be toward failing electrolytic capacitors.

One basic thing to check first to get an idea of what is happening. First connect your meter to the positive side of the speaker coupling cap and just leave it monitoring the voltage. It should be around one half of the supply voltage, so around 30 to 35 volts. Now see if that voltage changes drastically when the distortion sets in.

Its always good to try and find the exact cause of a problem rather than just change a load of parts in hope... even if the caps will need replacing at some point... its still best to fix the fault first. The DC check will give an idea of what type of fault this is.

And welcome to diyAudio :)

Hello Mooly