pre-beginner first timid step

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Recently I was asked "What's a good starting point for someone who thinks they might be interested in building their own hifi gear?"

Seemed like a no-brainer--start with a kit. There are tons of them out there, right? However, when I started to look closely all I found were kits for the electronics i.e. the circuit boards and components.

The only complete soup-to-nuts kits were mainly tube amps. I found a few solid state kits, but all were pretty pricey and complicated--for a complete beginner who's never done this before. On the other end I found a few simple headphone amp kits; affordable, but of limited use i.e. you're not going to set that up in the living room or rec room.

I remember, as a kid, building a Heathkit. You started putting it together and by the end you had a piece of gear that actually made sound!

So, I thought I'll just put something like that together for my friend. Before I do though, does anybody know of such a thing? 100% complete kit, simple instructions, minimal DIY skills prerequisite, around $250 USD.

Ken

i do not recall anything like that, but it is not hard to assemble one.
the tipical tda 1557q -ish chips are priced for poket money and require close to no knowledge.
the basic stuff has like a half handfull of components and has acceptible quality vs many factory stuff.
or lm1875 naturaly is a nother chip to figure with.

Danielwritesback made extremely detailed and high quality posts about point to point constructing a variety of chipamps, prehaps consider taking a look at them.
for 250 usd i do not see impossible to assemble a kit containing all the parts to construct:
1 pair of 2 way fullrange speakers with a stereo amplifier.
including the powersupply and tranformer, and all the components and drivers.