Pre Amp & Attenuator PCBs

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,
I'm working on a pre-amp and I'm getting close to getting the first boards made up. I'm still new to this and I've had some great advice here before so if anyone has any comments or suggestions for improvement I'd be pleased to hear them. I'm sure many people could design these on two layer boards but I've gone for four layers to help isolate the signal from the DC.

All switching is done by latching relays controlled by an ATMEGA MCU and a pile of TPIC6A595NE high current shift registers. This works great as you can daisy chain the shift registers together, set the values using a serial connection and switch as many relays as you want simultaneously. I've experimented with this setup for switching the gain in my MM stage and I'm unable to detect any switching noise through the speakers (I've not completed the design for the logic board yet - it's a mess of wires on veroboard).

The input board is made up of four RCA inputs and one input for the MM stage I've already built. I couldn't decide on a value for RF filtering so I've made that switchable depending on the output inpedence of the connected equipment. I've also included jumpers to bypass the DC blocking caps if needed. I've used OPA1652s for the MM Stage and was thinking of going for an OPA1612 to buffer the input to the attenuator and keep the resistors low value. I'll use something cheaper to drive the VU meter.

The attenuator can accommodate two input boards and provides 255 0.5db steps (more than I need but doesn't cost much extra). I've been worried about the switching noise so I've included a slave output and input so that if I need to I could stack two boards and route the signal through each board once all the relays are set. Hopefully I won't need to do that.