• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

PP amp has become SE?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,
I'm a newbie rank tube wannabe. I built a Real McTube FX box as a first project...success! Then hit my local auction house for some practise material. Came home with a Bogen M330A PA amp and a Stromberg-Carlson 209 Amp with a Stromberg-Carlson 207-M Power Supply, 6VDC to 400VDC tube inverter, more on this later, all for $20.00 Canadian that is.

I got the M330A schematic from a post on this forum by Zeke (thank you Zeke). It uses two 7868 output tubes and a push pull transformer.
I pulled out the tubes, plugged it in and tested the HV power supply. All was in spec. Being impatient I put the tubes back in, hooked up a speaker and fired it up. One of the output tubes was getting hot. Shut it down and checked further. The fault lies here;
On the primary of the output transformer (reading resistance from the centre tap) I found that one side of the primary is an open circuit. The other side reads 250ohms. After resoldering any suspect wires pulling the output tubes, checking again. I confirmed this.
I ran the amp with the tube on the "bad" side of the output tranny removed and it works, lots of volume, no distortion. Swapped the other tube into the "good" side and it still works.
So here are my questions. If this has become a Single Ended Amp why does it still work with the phase-inverter in place? Will I destroy it running it this way? Could I mod it to be SE?

Thanks in Advance
Dougie

So here are my questions. If this has become a Single Ended Amp why does it still work with the phase-inverter in place? Will I destroy it running it this way? Could I mod it to be SE?