Power suply capacitors change

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys. I am a beginner and I have a (stupid??) question and need help.
Still working on my first tube amp build. The first cap after the bridge rectifier is as per project 100 microfarad. I have in house a 450 microfarad same voltage rating. Can I use it? What shall be the impact on the sound quality with a bigger capacitance?
Tks for help :)

There is no advantage , with valve amplifiers, to use such a high value.
Consider slid state amplifiers on this forum where people 'modify' the smoothing capacitors to very high values and wonder why their mains transformers fail.
If your valve amplifier has a valve rectifier, the cathode will be damaged everytime you turn it on until it goes low emission and strips itself.
Check the valve for maximum tank values.

Hi Jonsnell
Understand you do not agree with use of bigger cap however as beginner I like to understand
The schematic I am using do not have a valve rectifier. the layout is transformer ,bridge rectifier ,smoothing capacitor.
So as you said before the only part that may actually suffer is the bridge rectifier and may be the main transformer due to the high in rush current?
So assuming I may use decently sized or oversized transformer and bridge rectifier there should be no hardware fault and a bigger capacitance should help in reduce the ripple that so far I am aware may affect the sound quality. On the other hand such big capacitance could affect the sound in other way. I was very impress on the huge change a simple coupling caps change may have.(I changed a low quality PP coupling cap with an high quality and trust me was like to change ampli)
Now this is a power supply capacitor don't' think the change shall be so dramatic. In any case I guess the only way to make up my mind with my limited knowledge is to give a try. Tks again

Hi JM
Just see you post