Planning a DIY projector and have several noobish questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
After some 3 evenings of research on DIY LCD projectors, I somehow found this forum and it looks like there are some very knowledgable people here. I figured I would post what I want and perhaps you guys can point me in the right direction.

What I'm basically looking to do is create a projector with a 15" LCD and 400W metal halide lamp to create a screen size of 8-12 feet from a distance of about 10-15 feet away from the screen. I think I'm going to be planning my build around the MkIII over at www.diyprojectorcompany.com.

As I am still very new to this, I would also like some input on the prices they have there. A 400w metal halide kit (ballast, lamp holders, bulb) is listed at $215. Two fesnel lenses and a triplet-80 projection lens sell there for $70. Unfortunately, the 400w ballast is not available there in 120v.

Anyways, here is my list of questions:
1. How is the pricing of the light kit and lens kit compared to other places?
2. Are the lenses listed there of reasonably impressive quality?
3. Exactly what 400w metal halide lamp and ballast should I be looking for to have good performance at a reasonable price? (part numbers at atlantalightbulbs.com would be good as that seems to have a lot of choices)
4. If the lens kit at diyprojectorcompany.com is not good or is overpriced, where should I go to get them and what should I get?

My most important question, of course, is with the ballast and bulb. I can order everything but the ballast/lamps at diyprojectorcompany.

another lamp choice

Their price for the lamp kit is not unreasonable: Double-ended lamps all seem to spec an electronic ballast, and those are expensive.

If you want to use a cheaper (but slightly larger) lamp, here is a good choice:

An S51 HPS ballast kit, like http://www.goodmart.com/products/243289.htm $62.50