Piezo device preamp to digital headphone IC (TPA6132A2)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,
First of Hi, and a total noob in need of help.

My current PCB design has been setup with input via consumer line-in inputs to a TPA6132A2 for testing and works well (no noise) (I do use a isolated power supply).

I would like to now replace the line-in with 2 preamp circuits for 2x Piezo sensors (automotive).

Specs :-

Range of frequency 3 to 25 kHz
Sensitivity at 5 kHz 26 ± 8 mV/g
Max. sensitivity changing (lifetime)
-17 %
Linearity between 5 to 15 kHz
(from 5 kHz value)
-10 to 10 %
Linearity between 15 to 20 kHz
(linear increasing with freq)
20 to 50 %
Main resonance frequency 30 kHz
Impedance > 1 MOhm
Capacity field 1,150 ± 200 pF

I have seen multiple applications for Piezo guitar pickup preamps though i am limited to a 5V supply.

Can any one help in a circuit or IC to preamp 2 signals enough for the TPA6132A2 or similar headphone IC??

Many thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
What is the expected range of g forces?

How do you expect to wire up the sensors - I assume balanced twisted pair wiring would make sense?

Why are you using a headphone amp IC in the first place?

Any constraints on power supply current usage?

This application is similar to both guitar amplifier and condenser microphone preamp applications. Extrapolating from the latter, you want an input impedance of 15-30 Megohms for best noise levels. (Contrary to intuition, you want input impedance as high as possible when faced with capacitive sources. Condenser mic capsules with something like 30-40 pF a pop are often followed by amplifiers with 10 gigaohm input bias resistors.)