Opinion on three way crossover - and path delay

Hello! I'm restoring and upgrading an old pair of 3-way speakers. I decided to make a crossover upgrade as well since I was at it. The old one didn't sound very well. I measured the drivers and loaded the data on Xsim.

It's an old pair of Namco NSU-770 (made by Panasonic in the 70s I guess...)
It's a 12" woofer paper woofer, 2,5" paper dome midrange, 1" aluminum tweeter.

This is my try at it but it's my first time doing a 3-way.

The FR and impedance graph look pretty okay to me but when I was setting the delay the simulated curve didn't overlap perfectly with the measured one. I did my best to match as closely as possible the measured tweeter + midrange response with the simulated one.

The woofer's FR looks pretty odd, there's a big hole at around 700Hz. I guess I'll have to live with this. The phase seems okay, reversing the midrange compared to how it's now leads to a weird FR.

Do you think this design can be improved in any way?

Project files are attached.

Thank you!
1713617436866.png

Attachments

• Project files.zip
    6.5 MB · Views: 12
Hi. What do you mean? Usually I take a measurement of FR of the various drivers first (tweeter, midrange and woofer) one at a time, then I measure the FR of the parallel between each pair of drivers (tweeter+midrange,midrange+woofer), then I go on XSim->curve->get file and import the measurement of the parallel of the tweeter and midrange.
I wire the midrange and tweeter in parallel on the schematic without any crossover and adjust the mod delay value until the system response matches the one I imported.

It would help lazy people like me if you showed the individual driver responses (with crossover) in your frequency response plot. If those all look reasonable, no need for me to download files. I rarely go to that trouble for a quick look at what someone has going on.

Reactions: 1 user