"no XO in 300 Hz - 3kHz": awfully constraining? (A rant.)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all. I'm not very experienced, but gathering ideas to try for my next project and have seen advice to try to avoid any crossover in the 300-3000 hz, high sensitivity region. But when I sit down to try to lay out a design that could meet that requirement, that one condition seems to virtually dictate all the choices. Like this: XO to tweeter at say 3.5k demands center to center spacing of about 2 inches to prevent a hideously tight lobe at XO freq. That in turn requires both a 0.75-1 inch tweeter (so sorry, nothing cool like an AMT, just stick to domes) AND a 3" max mid...and exactly one of it, as a 2.5 way would require a "forbidden" XO and two playing together would either move their acoustic center too far away or, in an MTM, also worsen the lobing that we can just barely tolerate as is. So we cram a 1" tweeter and 3" mid as close together as we can, and do what we want for bass, but only to 250 Hz or so. And we've accepted compromises on all fronts: directivity, power handling, distortion, max SPL, driver selection, creative choice, fun....or marketing wow factor, if you insist on objective metrics 😁. But my question is: do the people who give this advice know how constraining it is, and still think it worth it? Is avoiding an XO in that range really so magical that it is worth collapsing the universe of possibilities so severely? Or am I being too absolutist about directivity in the XO region, and what is gained is anyway thought to be worth a wasp-waisted XO at 3.5k, which after all is not your dog dying? Are there particular XO tricks that mitigate the tight spacing/lobing trade off? (Perhaps I should look again at the original MTM with 3rd order + phase shift XO....?) Does midrange XO phobia abate significantly if the XO is active DSP (the only way that I will do business, being