Newbie question: Where to start on building audio splitter/selector

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Greetings; first, I'd like to make it clear that I'm a complete newbie at audio projects. I recently graduated with a degree in electrical engineering, so I'm not a scrub with building/designing circuits, but audio projects are completely new to me.

My father is looking for a device with two stereo inputs and five outputs, which can each be independently set to either of the two inputs (or nothing). Such devices are commercially available, but prohibitively expensive. I've been looking for a new DIY project, and this sounded like a challenge, but as I dig into the research I realize that I lack a lot of the knowledge needed to build this thing well.

My questions are as follows:

1) The inputs will be coming from sources with their own amplification, so I don't feel the need to amplify the output any further; however, some volume control would be good. Which op amp chips would be the best quality/price tradeoff considering my father isn't a big audiophile?

2) I would like this to be wall-powered and not battery-powered; any suggestions for good power supplies for audio circuits?

Thanks
DBZ

I bought some switches, off ebay, that would work really well for this type application, search for 4p2t switches, then look for ON-OFF-ON type, these have a center off position. There are others which are ON-ON, with no center position, and (ON)-OFF-(ON) which are momentary on (spring loaded). Anyway, buffer BOTH inputs, then chain input one to one side of each of 5 switches, input two to the other side, then the center connection to the 5 outputs. This lets you switch signal and ground for each connection.

Tom.