Need Advice for Choosing Fostex Drivers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to this full-range stuff, but it seems like a great thing to try - no need for crossovers, right? So, just giving a quick look at the Fostex range of drivers, the FE Sigma jump out at me as the ones to try. I'd like to try the 8" FE208EZ - but I'm worried about the high-end response. What is the collective wisdom around here as far as pros and cons between the FE168EZ (6.5" Sigma) and the above mentioned FE208EZ? Also, for whichever full-range driver I end up using - do I still follow the same equations for box volume as if I were building a regular 2-way or 3-way? I've built two sets of 2-ways in the past, one using the now-discontinued 8" Aerogels (below right) and the other using 7" Scan-Speaks (below left). Thanks!

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

The FE208ESigma is a Wide Range rather than a Full Range driver and is all the better for it IMHO. Rather than trying to do everything, Fostex concentrated on getting the LF & midrange as good as they could, and left the HF for drivers intrinsically better able to deal with it, i.e. supertweeters.

Kill zone for FR drivers is the midband -there are numerous definitions; best is still Bell Labs classification as ~200Hz - 4Khz. If you can push crossovers above and below this region, they are a) less obvious, and b) can be much simpler. The 208 is best crossed over to a supertweeter at roughly 10KHz -just capped off, & dialled in with an Lpad is fine. Most people, if it's loaded right, will be happy with the LF performance; those who aren't can add subwoofers to deal with everything below 40Hz.

I wouldn't be sticking them in regular BR boxes though. You'll get better results from different types of cabinets.