NE5532 Load & Distortion

Hi all,

I just started learning about opamps and basic audio circuitry. I wanted to try and build the attached gain circuit with a NE5532!

Only thing I changed is R2 for 3.3k because with my +/-12v it'll clip otherwise. When I plug in my headphones (45ohms) at the other end It adds this distortion to the signal and I can't wrap my head around it!! Calculating the output current (lets say at 4v, with 100+45ohms =27mA) I stay in the limits of the opamp yet it distorts.

When I look at the datasheet for the opamp, I assume it shows a minimum load of 600ohms but can someone explain to me why minimum load is a factor?
it shouldn't be when I keep the current between nominal values right?

p01-f3.gif

IMG-3490.PNG
IMG-3491.PNG

LEFT: SIGNAL MEASURED AT U1B OUT WITHOUT HEADPHONES PLUGGED IN

RIGHT: SIGNAL MEASURED AT U1B OUT WITH HEADPHONES PLUGGED IN

Your gain happens in the second stage with the first being a follower. I have a strong feeling that you'd get a more ideal performance if you were to do it the other way. A gain of 10V/V would reduce the loop-gain by 20dB whereas a gain of 1V/V (follower) would not. I would suggest that you try this before you try anything else.

Joined 2009
Paid Member
First, when using someone else's (in this case, Rod Elliott's) schematic, make sure to provide a reference to the original.

Second, this is not distortion, this is instability. It may be related to a number of different factors, one of them is un-bypassed power supplies. Do you have capacitors in the power supply rails of the opamp? If not, read e.g. "Opamp Bypassing" by Rod Elliott and add something - 0.1uF film may be enough, 10uF or 22uF electrolytic wold be more usual.