Nakamichi Stasis ?'s-balance issue

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I’ve been lurking around here for awhile. Trying to absorb as much goodwill and knowledge as possible. Forum members are very helpful and respectful to each other. That’s one of the reasons I read so often, even the threads that are way over my head. I have an interest in learning why things work and sound the way they do, but as far a practical application I’m a pure novice.

I’m looking for some advice on a problem I’m having with a Nakamichi SR-3A receiver which uses the Stasis output topology licensed from Threshold. I really have no means of checking or measuring anything, my purpose is more for understanding/advice than DIY repair. I know some of you on this forum have worked on many brands/models of equipment.

I recently purchased the unit for use in a 2nd system. When I got it, it was pretty dusty and the switches and attenuators were crackly so I disassembled the front panel and cleaned all the contacts and switches with Deoxit. Fixed that problem. After several months of listening I notice that on all source material one channel is louder than the other. I’ve swapped cables; speakers (L to R & R to L); swapped speaker cables and still the same problem. What could be causing this? I now listen with the balance control set to the left about ¼ turn and that seems to be acceptable.

Also; I used this unit in place of my main rig for awhile and noticed it was quite a bit brighter sounding than my separates (Adcom 545 & Nak CA-5) also the bass was bloated and uncontrolled. Again this was compared to the separates in my main rig. All other components were the same. Is this typical of these units or is there a problem? I used to sell these when they were new in ~1986 and always thought they were a nice sounding unit, but now I’m not so sure. Could it be way out of spec? If so what could be causing the problems?