Mystery Capacitor

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello Folks,

New to the forum. I've been trying to fix my JBL TLX 210 speaker. The problem was obvious: A visibly-blown capacitor. The trouble is that I haven't been able to find a replacement on-line. It's dark blue radial capacitor with the following markings:

BENNIC
BI-POLAR
6.8 MFD
50 WV

Can anyone help me?

It needn't be exactly the same but as long as it's compatible and won't reduce my sound quality, I'll be happy. I'll order two of them so as to keep the speakers as matched as possible.

I've scoured Bennic's website but haven't found it. I'm not experienced with finding parts and I don't know what the 50 WV figure means so perhaps I just missed it.

Thanks

Austin

Hello AustinPrior, the 50WV is the working voltage for the capacitor. I.E. dont' use the capacitor above 50volts and you should be ok with it. You could replace the capacitor with another one of higher voltage, but with the same capacitance rating, 6.8uF, and the same material type, in this case, Bi-Polar Electrolytic. Having said that, I would personally spend a few extra coins and replace it with a capacitor having the same capacitance, and the same or higher voltage, but use a better material, such as polypropylene capacitor. You should be able to find the right cap from one of the electronic components suppliers, or suppliers of speaker components for DIY speaker building.

Good luck,

Dave Gerecke

Joined 2009
Paid Member
MFD = uF or micro-Farad
WV = Working Voltage
Bi-Polar = not polarized (unlike the schizophrenic caps... :))

Basically, any non-polarized 6.8 uF cap will work as long as it's rated at 50 V or higher. I second the idea of replacing the bipolar electrolytic caps with some polypropylene film caps. Wima MKP would be a good option or any of the polypropylene boutique caps. Replace the caps in both speakers, naturally...

~Tom