My first amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Alright, here goes!

A couple years back my dad, who is a bit of an audiophile, gave me some really great, brand spanking new Bose speakers as a birthday present, and gave me his old Sony TA-1055 amp to drive them; something of a rite of passage present your might call it (was for my 18th after all). The TA-1055 was a phenomenal piece of hardware, and drove my Bose desktops beautifully, but it's quite old and started showing its age, giving me quite a lot of problems, I was repairing it every second week. Finally, a couple months back, it broke once and for all, and to be honest, I don't feel like spending the cash or time on troubleshooting it at the moment, and would rather build myself a brand new amp.
So... I'm an audio amplifier noob, but not an electronics noob; I'm a third year electronic engineering student and I'm pretty damn good at what I study.. Dare I say I'm level with many people on this site with my electronics grounding? I doubt that, most of you are probably far wiser than me, which is why I come to you for help! But still, I'm just saying have some potential :)

My plan then, and some questions:
I want to build a desktop amp, preferably paint it matte black with a darkened perspex front, with my control interfaces and some digitally driven displays shining via LCD's through abovementioned darkened perspex (This eye-candy and control stuff I'll elaborate on some other time; I'm quite capable of doing this as I'm good and pretty experienced when it comes to basic digital stuff; but for the purpose of suggestions you may have, take into account I'll need a 5V rail and probably about 50W of power, for safeties sake, to run this part of my amp).