LTSpice BSC Simulation Success

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Joined 2011
Paid Member
I recently realized how helpful LTSpice can be for running simulations and decided it might be helpful for others as well. I'm a novice user of LTSpice so take this all with a grain of salt.

I've been working with MJ King's "Simple Sizing of the Components in a Baffle Step Correction Circuit" and specifically Hong Nguyen's spreadsheet (based on King's work) to design a BSC circuit for a pair of speakers I built a few years ago. I have used various forms of equalization in the past and wasn't very happy with any of them.

Anyway, I wanted to really learn what this BSC circuit was doing - what each component actually does. I am a visual learner so being able to run simulations is helpful to me. Maybe it is to you, too.

So basically all I did was install LTSpice (it runs great in Linux under WINE, by the way) and then I spent some time getting used to the interface, how to place various components, rotate them, connect wires to the components, add and edit a voltage source, use hotkeys, etc. I won't include these basic instructions because a quick google will get anyone started.

I used Mr. Nguyen's spreadsheet to calculate (BSC + Zobel) component values and then built the simulation in LTSpice based on the diagram on the spreadsheet. To simulate the speaker, I used an inductor with a value equal to the voice coil inductance and also entered the series resistance of the voice coil. The AC voltage source wasn't easy to figure out. Basically, you have to click the "Component" object button and then find "Voltage", then place the object on the screen. It defaults to DC so you need to right-click it and then find a section named "Small signal AC analysis" and enter an AC voltage value in the "AC Amplitude" box. I started with 1.6 volts and then adjusted it later.