Largest PA systems

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Just curious, has anyone here ever been in a position to recover the huge audio system from a stadium or major league hockey arena?

Just thinking about the racks of amplifiers.. maybe speakers, depending. When they imploded Cowboys Stadium in Irving, TX, the huge main speaker arrays hanging in the center went crashing to the ground. There's a video somewhere. I have to wonder if the racks of amplifiers were also crushed into nothing.

In the 1990s I worked as an engineer and occasionally field engineer for Sony Broadcast & Professional. I was fortunate to be assigned to the team refurbishing the 4-screen Jumbotron at Reunion Arena, home of the Dallas Stars*.

That thing was big enough to park 4 small cars inside and had a floor around the backside of the panels which included the video displays and large scoreboards. In the center was a hole. The main PA speakers hung from the ceiling by a winch system and were stowed inside the thing. They were lowered well below the display during games.

The speakers, 8 of them, covering 360 degrees. They were easily 6 FT wide and 12 FT tall. This was not a bunch of PA horns but huge boxes with cone drivers suplemented by multicellular horns. IIRC the power was 4 or 6 KW. I never saw the amplifiers, just the speakers.