Intro

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone. I'm new to diyAudio, but have been a member over at CarverAudio for awhile now.

After a medical retirement, I'm finally able to start re-building my system again.

I'm running two pair of Klipsch Cronwall II's, and 8 modified Carver amps.

After experimenting for about nine months (I used to work for Carver repair back in the day) I came up with a stable, reliable performance boost for the Carver amps.

I'll get pics posted of my (hopefully nearing mid-fi?) system once I get the mess cleaned up (surround speakers still aren't installed, for example, and two amps are still on the floor)

In the meantime, for anyone interested in 'juiced' Carver amplification, check out:

carvermk2.com

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi Rich,
Welcome to DiyAudio.

I am looking forward to see what you have been up to with these mods. Carver amps and power supplies were reasonably tightly engineered together, so large changes may have long term issues.

I always approach circuit changes very carefully and generally only make them to "fix" an engineering problem. I did work a little bit with Vic on some in warranty issues. Was he at all involved in your work?

-Chris

Edit: Hi Rich, after looking at your site, I do have some extreme concerns over what you are doing. Some of your mods (like output connectors) I can understand. I would use real binding posts though, not those things I see there. I guess yours are pretty though.

Normal servicing does include the factory change orders, and that makes for a solid service. Increasing the supply voltages is really not recommended from what I have read on your site. Also, matching diodes is not necessary. New ones will be very close and any good service replaces diodes as complete sets.