How to connect vu meters

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all,
I just saved two vumeters from a deck I saw in the scrap container (Aiwa Ad6500) and I need some advice on how to wire them up in order to use them between my computer line out and amplifier...
Since I am a noob I hope some of you can help me with a few instructions.
Attached you can find the photos (front / back) and the schematic I found over the net.
Thank you

Attachments

• P_20190810_091019.jpg
    P_20190810_091019.jpg
    729.1 KB · Views: 814
  • P_20190810_091002.jpg
    P_20190810_091002.jpg
    766.4 KB · Views: 546
  • P_20190810_091006.jpg
    P_20190810_091006.jpg
    659.8 KB · Views: 729
  • Screenshot_20190809-143048448.png
    Screenshot_20190809-143048448.png
    265.8 KB · Views: 578
Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
You are going to have to do some research, however here are some pointers...

1/ The meters are standard moving coil types and so that means you must rectify the AC (audio) voltage to give DC.

2/ You can use passive rectification using a couple of diodes (germanium types are best because of their low volt drop), however even these result in meters that still need a fair bit of signal to get them to move.

3/ The best method is an active rectifier that overcomes these limitations and this also allows the meter to respond to a fast transient and then 'hold on' a little to the signal so that the needle has to time to move.

This shows a simple opamp stage. Look how the very short duration input signal generates a decaying DC voltage for the meter to work with.

If you want to to use the Aiwa driver then you will have to look at the actual circuit details and not just a board layout.

Attachments

• Annotation 2019-08-10 125333.jpg
    Annotation 2019-08-10 125333.jpg
    275 KB · Views: 509

PRR

Joined 2003
Paid Member