How to anneal 5 micron aluminum foil ?

I have been working on 1" ribbons for several months using 6.5 micron foil in the protypes. The problem with this foil is that I can't hold a close enough width tolerance (.004 or so) while slitting a 6' length.

I located a very small roll of 1" by 5 micron precision slit foil (exactly what I ultimately want to use) and have been hoarding it for the final ribbons...which were finished yesterday.

New problem. This foil is either treated differently, or a different alloy such that it seems very brittle and has a tendency to break during pleating.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how I might go about annealing the 5 micron foil?

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

I have heat treated AL, but much thicker than the one you are using, 1/8".

AL will be treated to zero temper after heating in oven at 700-800 F, after through heating, turn off oven. DO NOT open the oven door. Then let it cool in the oven.

AL will age and harden just being out in the air.

Hope this help.

Cryo Treatment

If you are interested I would be happy to cryo treat your aluminum ribbon material no charge. Also I know of some folks who have found that a fine dimple patternis superior to the usual krinkle or fold technique most folks use. this makes the ribbon more rigid while keeping more of the conductor in the linear gap.
Send me an email if you are interested in the cryo offer. Best regards Moray James.

The only way to anneal or heat treat (most of the time people wants harder, but can be softer too) is to heat the metal in a control fashion and let it cool, some cool in control fashion, some in atmospere.

I have never read or heard of cryo treating to anneal metal. Believe me, I have read the a lot of books on heat treating.

However, I can not argue as how good the sound after cryo treatment due to lack of experience.

diyAudio Editor
Joined 2001
Paid Member