Hiraga 24V power supply -

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hiraga 24V power supply - capacitor choice

Hi,

I'm a complete noob when it comes to DIY audio building, but I have to start somewhere.
The project I want to take on, is building a Hiraga class A 20W amplifier. Mayby not the most obvious/wise choice for a first project, but as I already have one (original transistors) it will give me a point of reference to judge the result.

Many thanks to all members who contributed to e.g. the existing Hiraga 20W thread. It provided schematics, helped me select suitable transistors ,gave some guidance for the transformer, etc.
I would like to start out building a 24V power supply and am tempted to include a choke (CLC). Specific transformer type undecided for now but probably EI or R-core.

My question mainly concerns the condensators for the power supply.
The guidelines I found (here and elsewhere) tell me to distinguish between the first set (directly after rectifyer) and the second set (after choke);
* second set should have very low ESR, the first just low
* but to improve lifetime of second set; select long life/high temperature condensators for first set
* second set would be 3x more capacitance
* better to split up the second set in a series of smaller capacitors

The problem is I get totally lost when I try to translate that into specific capacitors (F-values, brands, series). Too many variables for me to wrap my head around.

So:
would someone be willing to give me some advice? Ideally I'm looking for a (simple) design/combination of components that has been tested and proven, but will gladly settle for clear advice on just the capacitors. I'm starting the project without any parts in stock.

Thanks,
Carlo

Last edited:
Hi Carlo

Welcome to the forum and to building a Hiraga amplifier, like you i chose this amplifier as my first build, and i am still building it!