help repairing a RF T5001bd

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm an experienced installer but know very little about amplifier repair, so I was hoping you guys could help me! :eek:

This amp was poorly mounted in a vehicle and probably slid around a lot. One day it quit working. It kept blowing the fuse on the power wire.

I took the amp out, took off the cover and blew the dust/debris out with compressed air. I connected the power (unfused) and ground and everything seemed okay, but shortly after connecting the remote, all three fuses on the amp popped. Only the power LED turned on between the time the remote was connected and when the fuses blew, never the thermal or protect LEDs. I can't find any visible damage on the board or components.

Any suggestions as to where to start testing things?

Id start checking the power supply fets and the outputs first off.

your multi meter set to ohms you should not read anything near 0 ohms between any of the legs on the power supply fets or the outputs,

The power supply fets and outputs are on the mesha boards ( 3 legged)

Id start checking the power supply fets and the outputs first off.

your multi meter set to ohms you should not read anything near 0 ohms between any of the legs on the power supply fets or the outputs,

The power supply fets and outputs are on the mesha boards ( 3 legged)

Cool, I'll start there and post results tonight.

My camera doesn't take the greatest quality pics, but I'll try to get the best pic I can.

Thank you very much :)

Perry i think this is the amp he has

Attachments

• rf.jpg
    rf.jpg
    88.9 KB · Views: 151
That's probably it. I looked there but overlooked it.

If the fuses only blow after remote voltage is applied, the output transistors (circled in photo) have likely failed.