Hello all

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I found this forum last week and have been lurking around. Let me give my thanks to the creators, moderators and participants for what is an excellent site.

As for me, I have been interested in audio engineering since about 1976. That year coincides with me being a junior in college studying Electrical Engineering, and the publication in Audio Magazine of Leach's Low TIM amplifier. It is interesting that I had never even heard of Audio before, but a friend brought a copy over to ask me my opinion of something that was in it, and I looked through the magazine and discovered the amplifier article (I still have that magazine buried away somewhere!). I was amazed with the amplifier (until then, I was drooling over Heathkit amplifiers) and set a goal right then that I would study the design, figure out how it worked and - after I graduated and when I had the money - I would build it.

It wasn't until about 1980 that I finally got around to working on it, with one of the first things I did before starting was to call up Dr. Leach himself to see if there were any updates. He told me the design had been replaced with the Low TIM 3 design, and he kindly mailed me the schematics and parts list, and I purchased the PCB's from him. The amplifier was built in a similar manner to that shown in the magazine (i.e. on a Bud box with everything exposed), but it worked great. I still use it to this day, with the only problems being that as it heats up, a hissing noise develops in one channel (I have been too lazy to get out the freeze spray and track it down) and I get some severe thumps when I power it down.