Greetings

Hi everyone,

I've been lurking for a bit now and slowly getting tooled up ready for my first build. Started to ask a newb question then realised I haven't introduced myself.

My name's Haden, I'm in England where I work as a Business Services professional in Utilities.

I DJ now and again and occasionally output the odd bit of techno myself.

HiFi-wise, I have a turntable which gets occasional use, an old Technics SL-110 / SME 3009 / Sure V15 III combo, but I'm mostly digital - I run Roon off a fanless Intel NUC and have a RPi configured as an endpoint with an Allo Digione HAT on.

I have a few DACs, nothing too costly, and a nice little Temple Audio Bantam Gold digital amp which I think is an absolute steal when paired with reasonably sensitive speakers.

Speaker-wise, I have just acquired some unidentified passive monitors which sound really nice, if unforgiving. Seem to pair well with a TDA1543 DAC I happen to have. I have just rinsed my local branch of Maplin for a job lot of speaker cable before they close down.

My first build will be Peter Millet's Korg Nutube 6P1 buffer board. After that I have some OEM (Monacor-esque I would say) 10" full range drivers lying around that I'd like to try and do something over the summer with - maybe a boombox.

I've not picked up a soldering iron since school and have almost zero working electronics knowledge but I am not in a rush and would hope that you are patient with me if I ask annoying questions from the steepest part of the learning curve.

Anyway, howdy.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi everyone,

I've not picked up a soldering iron since school and have almost zero working electronics knowledge but I am not in a rush and would hope that you are patient with me if I ask annoying questions from the steepest part of the learning curve.

Anyway, howdy.

We are all learners.
I have been building my own audio gear for 37 years and still learning.