FR125 & Extremis crossover ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
FR125 & Extremis crossover ?

Hi There,
I'm very new to this DIY speaker thing, but have recently just put together a pair of FR125s in a sealed enclosure based on all the excellent information that I have found on this forum, and I have to say - I have been completely stunned by these things. Its bad because they are overshadowing my main speakers that I spent a lot more on and trumping some speakers that I have recently listened to like fairly expensive Quad bookshelves speakers and they haven't even been broken in yet.

They have got me thinking that I might like to make them my mains with a bit more LF extension and a bit of a bigger sound. As far as HF and mids they are detailed, stunning and very revealing - (insert host of audiophile terms). I was thinking, based on the reviews of the extremis that it would be an ideal mate for the FR125s, and from other posts it seem that the ideal X-over point would be approximately 300 HZ. I suppose it would be similar to the RAW HTFR but the cabinets would be separated and would like to place the extremis in a basic sealed/aperiodic cabinet roughly 9 litres. that the fr125s would sit upon similar to the design posted by planet10, but not necessarily floor standing.

I was wondering if anybody has constructed a X-over for this arrangement yet? This would be my first X-over and was thinking that a simple 1st order butterworth. Using a X-over calculator it seems that a 4.7mH capacitor and a 75 uF would do the trick...but since I am totally ignorant on this stuff, I really have no clue.

Any advice offered would be greatly appreciated...

Best Regards,
Matt

extremis and plate amp...

Hi Cal,