• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Eico ST70 needs a preamp output....

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all, I notice a lot of vintage tube intergrated amplifiers did not come with preamp out puts and my Eico St70 is one. I'm putting together a triamp system for a set 3way of speakers im building. My idea is using the Eico's phono and preamp section to drive all of it,use it's amplifier section to drive the midrange drivers and solid state amps on the low and hi frequency drivers. My problem is I need pre outs for the solid state amps. I'm not an engineer nor a designer but I can sure read and understand schematics. I've attached a couple pics of the Sam's Eico schematics for reference. Here are my thoughts. Could I come off V2b (7247) section behind the .1 capacitor before the low filter switch or go before the .1 cap add another .1 cap in series with the new pre out jacks, will I need a 47k resistor to ground at the pre out as well? Or will I need another gain stage? Is all this possible? Any advise will be much appreciated guys.
Thanks!!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    583.9 KB · Views: 140
In order to retain the full signal shaping capability of the preamp, you need to break in before the power section, just after switch S6C.

Are you planning on a full preamp-out/amp-in implementation?

In any event, you really need to buffer the preamp O/Ps you are creating. Cascoded DN2540N3-G (TO92 case) depletion mode MOSFET pairs rate to get the job done for you.

Attachments

• EICO ST70 Partial.JPG
    EICO ST70 Partial.JPG
    53.4 KB · Views: 145