Diy audio store and passlab

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi -

can anyone tell me the relationship between the diy audio store and first watt? Is the online shop the only place where I can buy first watt boards? I have had some bad experiences with their quality control and i would like to buy from a store whose staff are knowledgable with electronics if possible.

thank you very much

Philip

Joined 2002
Paid Member
The 'store' itself only does order fulfillment and is not versed in electronics. From
the store page:

"For all non-technical pre and post sales support, please contact us by email at contact@diyaudiostore.com. Technical support is fielded at the diyAudio Store Forum where staff and members of the diyAudio community will do their best assist you completing the project of your dreams."

What are the 'quality control' problems you spoke of? I have not had
any problems with shipping time, packaging or the boards or parts.

hi - is DIY audio store the official outlet for first watt product?

I am not an experienced DIYer but the components bought should at least work. I have had some failed components from them and the answer was bad luck - it's DIY so tough. Although legally correct I suppose, it's really isn't the answer one would expect.

I truly think Mr. Nelson Pass is a great man and I would continue to support his causes for DIYers but these things do cost a lot of money and I would like to work with a company which is more tentative and knowledgable about the products they sell. This forum is a great place with generous members who would bend backward to help but knowing what i know now, I am hesitant about buying anything from the store, to be honest. I am only asking because the F7 FW looks like a real piece of engineering tour de force and I would like to build it when it comes out but once bitten twice shy.

Joined 2017
Paid Member
hi - is DIY audio store the official outlet for first watt product?